Favorite Breakfast Dishes + Recipes

dcsdreamy cream scones – I used this scone recipe from America’s Test Kitchen Cookbook for my first time baking scones from scratch, and I can honestly say that I never need another scone recipe again. I couldn’t believe I pulled these out of my oven. I may not have baked many scones before, but I’ve definitely eaten many*, and I tell you, this is the scone of your dreams.  It’s at the tippy-top of scone perfection.  It’s moist, but sturdy, but still so soft and light and buttery and wonderful. The perfect scone.

*scone cred? – some of my favorites include Tartine’s buttermilk currant scone, Arizmendi’s blueberry scone/corn cherry scone, Square One’s raspberry scone.

DSC_0173baked oatmeal – I made this not too long ago, and I’ve had it every morning for the past couple months. Yes, every single day. Sometimes I use apples rather than blueberries. The amount of cinnamon in the recipe goes well with the apples, naturally, and I like to use a mix of Fiji and Granny Smith apples. Pears would be a nice alternative. Are you still perplexed by the fact that I eat the same breakfast every day? I find an incredible amount of comfort in breakfast routines, leave me alone.

giltslowly scrambled eggs – 30 minutes for scrambled eggs? Yes. Ruth Reichl says, “…scrambled eggs, cooked with great patience, have a texture like velvet and a taste that reminds you why you want to be alive.” This recipe will require your time and patience, but it’ll give back the most luxurious dish of eggs. The slow process of constant stirring not only creates a luscious texture, but the flavor of egg is phenomenally reduced and concentrated in every bite.

croicroissant + preserves + coffee

My favorite bakeries in LA for a croissant – unless you plan to make them at home – are Proof, Maison Giraud, and Europane.

avoavocado toast – No recipe needed here – simply mash half an avocado onto a well-toasted slice of a nutty, whole-grain bread, sprinkle with sea salt and freshly cracked black pepper. Healthy, hearty, easy, quick, delicious.

2yogurt + agave + chia seeds

When the yogurt is especially good and fresh, I like to keep the toppings to a minimum. This is one of my favorite combinations.

aprilApril Bloomfield’s English Porridge – You’ve probably heard it before – it’s been praised by The Wednesday Chef, The Amateur Gourmet, Food52, among many others. This oatmeal doesn’t need me to say it, but I’ll say it. It’s special.

eggsdippy eggs and soldiers – Buttered strips of toast dipped in rich egg yolk. My favorite meal for those slow, glorious mornings of breakfast in bed, a good book, and the morning sun.

berrybreakfastcobbler3piedessert for breakfast – Be it leftover pie, cobbler, or crumble, I believe that if you put a dollop of Greek yogurt on top, it’s breakfast and it’s wholesome.

cerealcold cereal – Cold cereal never, ever gets old. Breakfast, lunch, or dinner, or late night snack, it’ll do. Kashi in the morning, Frosted Flakes and Lucky Charms at night.

cerealk

One thought on “Favorite Breakfast Dishes + Recipes

Leave a Reply

