Summer Style

july asthetiques.tumblrWe’re into the second half of the year and it’s been really hot. Hot hot hot. I can’t begin this entry without talking about this heat, and likewise, any conversation between friends or strangers usually begins with a comment on the weather. food52

This sudden transition into high temperatures always throws me off in a lot of ways. Any recipes I’ve bookmarked- like this, this, or this– remains ignored, because I don’t even want to think about turning on a stove. The only kitchen appliances I’m willing to deal with are the refrigerator and blender. I end up eating tomato sandwiches and blueberry smoothies everyday. I’m not complaining.

thenewblack.goffgough.com

I also suddenly forget how to dress myself in this warm weather. Dressing myself during the autumn and winter months comes easy. I love the balance of a warm coat/jacket/sweater/blazer + slim pants + heels/boots. It’s my winter formula.

maeveeeee.tumblrbarsjakeveci.tumblr ss2 yscegr.tumblrBut come summertime, I just get confused. I don’t know what to wear, and I know my affinity for the color black offends sweaty people. So I start pulling off some funky things- playing with neon, wearing not enough clothing- things that may work fine for others, but just isn’t me. It leaves me colorful and uncomfortable.
sfmoma.tumblr
And then I get a grip, and I remember. The shapes and lines I like, the colors I love. My own style, and the aesthetics that draw me. I let the warm weather and the change of seasons inspire and add to them, and from there, I just play. ss3 theepitomeofquiet.tumblr
modernhepburn.tumblr OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAhttp-::hautefika.tumblr.com: katemonteith.tumblr
So basically, I wear the same things, minus a coat.

One more style note-

French designer Isabel Marant is going to be the next collaborator in the 10th year of H&M’s guest designer program. Pretty sure this is going to be the biggest hit yet.

“I aim at creating something real, that women want to wear in their everyday lives, with a certain carelessness, which I think is very Parisian,” Marant said. “You dress up, but do not pay too much attention and still look sexy. The collection is infused with this kind of easiness and attitude.”

The collection is going to be available from November 14th. Excited!

1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12

 
Leave a Reply

